After the Honeymoon

I got married. It was this beautiful day full of everything wedding-y. Flowers, clinking glasses, open bar, crying mom… you name it. I had it. It was truly one of the greatest days of my life. And two days later, my husband and I were trotting around Paris without many cares in the world. It was perfect. It was what we all dreamed of.

And then we got back to the real world, and my husband of two weeks was fired from his job. He made 65% of our household income.

It honestly didn’t come as much surprise. My husband had been miserable since joining this organization four months ago. As a director of his small department, he faced a work place that harbored resentment and ridicule for those who tried to modify a broken and outdated system. He suffered a lot of mental anguish at the hands of the CEO and a fellow director. So, as I said, him being fired wasn’t a complete surprise.

I got the news as I was shopping for new running shoes. Two days after living a week in extremely fit Paris and two weeks after paying for a 30k wedding, I was feeling like it was the perfect time to get back my healthy. Husband and I were even planning on visiting a highly recommended gym after he got off of work. We were ready to make it work.

But as I walked from the running store to my car- bags in hand, I took that phone call that has changed our life so quickly. I reassured my husband that this was for the best. That something better would come along. He would finally get to write his novel. As soon as I hung up the phone, I tossed the $300 worth of workout gear in the trunk of my car next to the unpacked suitcase and cried.

Wasn’t this supposed to be easier? We had saved for 21 months for our dream wedding and honeymoon. We sacrificed our time out with friends, Christmas gifts, trips to my hometown, and even visits to our doctors in the name of saving money for this one day. The last months of saving were the worse, and we often spent hours talking about how we would spend our large surplus of money once we didn’t have to save over $2k a month in our wedding fund. The thought of finally joining the next social class pushed us through some hard moments.

And now, with one Friday’s awful news, we were back to square one. But I’m not returning those new Nikes.

This blog is about money and fitness. I want to be honest about both. I want to share our struggles through unemployment and financially instability- even if they are temporary- along with my journey to healthy.

So, here’s what it looks like right now:

Money:

 

  • We are living on one income of $37,890 year before taxes
  • I get paid biweekly at $1130
  • I contribute $50 a paycheck in to my 403b which I currently know zip about except that I should put money in to my 403b account.
  • Health insurance for both myself and my husband (including life insurance for me) costs around $120 a month. I’m blessed that it is so low.
  • Pre-firing, my husband brought in around 65,000 per year before taxes and contributed around $150 per month in to his 401k.

Health:

  • I currently weight 189.8 lbs at 5′ 0″
  • My BMI is in the obese category
  • I previously lost over 30lbs by training for a half marathon and taking spin classes twice a week. That was two years ago. I stopped running about 4 months after I finished my half marathon and promptly gained back 40lbs.
  • I practice yoga for at least 6 hours a week at home.

I will discuss personal bills in an upcoming post.

Now, where does fitness come in? Part of my frustration is that my inspiration on sites such as twitter, facebook, and instagram seem to always have a ton of money to spend on fancy health food, organic peanut butter, nutritional supplements, and expensive workout gear. They also seem to not work or work jobs that allow them to devote hours to fitness and nutrition.

I hate to knock these blogs and posters. I read them with so much admiration and awe that I swear that this is not supposed to be a judgement on their lives or a way to call out them as fake or unrealistic. But I have yet to see someone discuss the actual costs of getting fit that is beyond starving one’s self. Now that money is a major and important part of my life, I see the impracticality of this “fit life” even more so. My mission is to write about this and to share my struggles and hopefully success with as much honesty as I can muster.

What do you have to say about it?

