INFJ and Networking- Success and Failures

In the higher education world, we talk a LOT about personality. We are constantly assessing and reassessing student engagement and performance based on Meyer-Briggs testing. So, of course I know and will proudly attest to being a strong INFJ. 

Here’s a quick personality overview: 

Beneath the quiet exterior, INFJs hold deep convictions about the weightier matters of life. Those who are activists — INFJs gravitate toward such a role — are there for the cause, not for personal glory or political power.

INFJs are champions of the oppressed and downtrodden. They often are found in the wake of an emergency, rescuing those who are in acute distress. INFJs may fantasize about getting revenge on those who victimize the defenseless. The concept of ‘poetic justice’ is appealing to the INFJ.

“There’s something rotten in Denmark.” Accurately suspicious about others’ motives, INFJs are not easily led. These are the people that you can rarely fool any of the time. Though affable and sympathetic to most, INFJs are selective about their friends. Such a friendship is a symbiotic bond that transcends mere words.

INFJs have a knack for fluency in language and facility in communication. In addition, nonverbal sensitivity enables the INFJ to know and be known by others intimately. –http://www.typelogic.com/infj.html

Many people would label INFJ’s as “shy” or “quiet.” In fact, we are often quite the opposite. We speak when we feel it is necessary, and when we speak, it’s important. We are the thunder to everyone else’s lightning. But, sticking to this poor analogy, it’s hard for thunder to really stand out unless it’s right over you. 

Networking has always been a tough concept for me. And now that I’m re-evaluating my personal successes and failures in the workplace and with my volunteer work, I am noticing that my flaw is my inability to release all humble sensitivities and get my name out there with the rest of them. 

It has been my goal as of late to start networking more and more and to also “brag” about my workplace accomplishments. Today, I participated in an online, professional networking webinar regarding a topic that I am quite accomplished at. I was quite surprised that the internet allowed me to be free in my praises for myself and my successes while also allowing to share in my mistakes as well. While I know people could easily look me up (my name, title, and work place were clearly listed and I shared my email at the end), I didn’t mind. 

Anonymity is like honey for us hermit types, and the internet is our hive. 

But what about when it’s time to get my face out there? Eventually, I do have to actually show my face instead of the selfie from four years ago that is my LinkedIn picture. 

Well, I’m working on it. It’s a resolution. One of my thoughts is to request permission and funding to attend a conference by myself. It’s a certain type of anonymity that I typically steer clear from, but I would most likely benefit from having a wide berth of opportunity instead of having a crutch to fall back on. 

What’s your personality type and how does it play in to networking or advancing in your career? Would you rather be the chat room star or the in-person personality? 

________________________________________________________________________________

Wrap It Up (Tuesday, October 15th, 2013):

Money:

  • Spent: $35 at the gas station (by husband)
  • Method: Venture card
  • Balances of checking and savings accounts: 3,070.39 (2,305.30 in shared checking and 765.09 in personal checking)
  • Bills paid: $0.  

Fitness:

  • Activity: 45 minute yoga practice
  • Breakfast- Peanut butter and jelly toast on wheat bread.
  • Snack 1- Bag of fritos
  • Lunch- Leftover baked pasta with garlic bread
  • Snack 2- Banana 
  • Dinner- Pan tossed chicken with mashed potatoes 
  • Snack 4- Some $2 Only tortilla chips 
What do you have to say about it?

